Karl

Working in Beijing, China

Monthly Earnings 193,000 baht after tax

Q1. How is that income broken down? (full-time salary, private students, on-line teaching, extra work, etc)

I receive 139,000 baht a month after tax for my salary. I work at a near top tier international school in Beijing. I don't privates or any other work. I also get a 37,000 baht a month accommodation allowance paid by the school for single teachers (teaching couples get more) plus a 325,000 baht end of (two year) contract bonus and a 46,000 baht yearly travel allowance.

Q2. How much money can you save each month?

It depends, as at an international school we enjoy around 13 weeks a year holiday including a long summer break, Christmas and Chinese New Year holiday, and a Spring break. So for the months I'm on holiday, I probably don't save much since I enjoy nice hotels and flying short haul business class. I usually holiday in Thailand. I aim to save between 70,000 and 90,000 baht a month.

Q3. How much do you pay for your accommodation and what do you live in exactly (house, apartment, condo)?

I have a duplex 3-bedroom modern apartment in an expat district of Beijing. The school gives me 37,000 baht a month for accommodation and this is the full cost of my apartment. I could find cheaper and smaller but I like the extra space even though I live alone.

Q4. What do you spend a month on the following things?

Transportation

I don't do buses or the metro. Most of my trips are short Uber rides away (in China it is called DiDi). This equates to around 3,000 to 4,000 baht a month. I also have an electric scooter that I use for short journeys when I am not drinking.

Utility bills

Around 2,000 to 3,000 baht a month for electric, water, mobile phone and internet.
I also pay 5,000 baht a month for a cleaner to come twice a week.

Food - both restaurants and supermarket shopping

I like my imported groceries and spend around 3,000 to 4,000 baht a week on shopping. I am a single person so I don't need much. I eat at home mostly during the week but sometimes order in, spending up to 1,000 to 2,000 baht a week in restaurants.

Nightlife and drinking

I am a huge craft beer monster (but I am trying to cut down). This can be quite expensive but local Chinese places are cheaper and more reasonable. I probably spend around 5,000 baht a month in bars on beer and food because I try to limit going out to once a week.

Books, computers

I have a MacBook Pro, iPhone 12 and an older iPad, I don't buy many books. I bought these over the last three years so hard to say how much I've spent monthly on these. Probably around 3,500 baht a month over the last three years.

Q5. How would you summarize your standard of living in one sentence?

I feel like I live quite a privileged life compared to friends back home and a lot of locals.

Q6. What do you consider to be a real 'bargain' here?

I think the local Uber cars are really cheap and comfortable which is why I don't use public transport at all.

Q7. In your opinion, how much money does anyone need to earn here in order to survive?

'Survive' is a difficult word to use. I have earned less in China and still lived a good life by eating and drinking at local places. I have decent medical insurance but medical bills can be expensive without it. I would say for a decent standard of living, 90,000 baht a month would be ok and you could even save a little and take regular holidays.

Phil's analysis and comment

There's not much I can add to this by way of comments. When you fly around business class, live in a luxury apartment, take Uber taxis everywhere, etc and still manage to save 70-90K a month, life must be pretty amazing. 


Submit your own Cost of Living survey

Back to the main list


Featured Jobs

NES Kindergarten Teachers for October Start

฿36,000+ / month

Phuket


Filipino ICT Teacher for Primary (Khokkloy)

฿25,000+ / month

Phuket


Upper Maths Position at Governent Secondary School

฿34,000+ / month

Nakhon Si Thammarat


Secondary English Teacher

฿35,000+ / month

Chon Buri


Secondary PE & Health Teacher

฿50,000+ / month

Samut Sakhon


NES Primary and Secondary Teacher

฿50,000+ / month

Bangkok


Featured Teachers

  • Asger


    Dane, 49 years old. Currently living in Thailand

  • Randy


    Filipino, 48 years old. Currently living in Thailand

  • Daniel


    Canadian, 58 years old. Currently living in Thailand

  • Edward


    American, 59 years old. Currently living in Thailand

  • Daniel


    American, 52 years old. Currently living in Thailand

  • Stan


    British, 62 years old. Currently living in Thailand

The Hot Spot


Can you hear me OK?

Can you hear me OK?

In today's modern world, the on-line interview is becoming more and more popular. How do you prepare for it?


Renting an apartment?

Renting an apartment?

Before you go pounding the streets, check out our guide and know what to look out for.


Will I find work in Thailand?

Will I find work in Thailand?

It's one of the most common questions we get e-mailed to us. So find out exactly where you stand.


The dreaded demo

The dreaded demo

Many schools ask for demo lessons before they hire. What should you the teacher be aware of?


Teacher mistakes

Teacher mistakes

What are the most common mistakes that teachers make when they are about to embark on a teaching career in Thailand? We've got them all covered.


Need Thailand insurance?

Need Thailand insurance?

Have a question about health or travel insurance in Thailand? Ricky Batten from Pacific Prime is Ajarn's resident expert.


Contributions welcome

Contributions welcome

If you like visiting ajarn.com and reading the content, why not get involved yourself and keep us up to date?