Evan

Working in Outer Bangkok

Monthly Earnings 70k per month.

Q1. How much do you earn from teaching per month?

70K per month includes 35k as a kindergarten homeroom teacher (8-10 periods per week) 12-month contract with 12 weeks paid holiday per year. And 35K a month teaching students privately after school and weekend mornings (10 hrs per week)

Q2. How much of that can you realistically save per month?

I’ve usually got 20-25k left at the end of the month. Sometimes I’ll save that but sometimes it needs to be spent on visa runs, trips, car insurance, things for the baby, 100k recently went on a pregnancy and birth package, 150k on a new motorcycle, 250k on a car. So as soon as you save a bit, you spend it. We only buy in cash and never go into any debt – a rule of life that has served me well.

Q3. How much do you pay for your accommodation and what do you live in exactly (house, apartment, condo)?

We live in a modern private house in outer Bangkok, which has a private garden with fish pond and fruit trees. This costs us 9,000 baht per month.

Q4. What do you spend a month on the following things?

Transportation

Bought a motorbike and car cash (earned from teaching). 150k and 250k respectively. Gas costs about 2k per month between them but the motorbike is the everyday commuter. First-Class insurance for both is 12k per year.

Utility bills

Electric 2,500 Internet 600 Water 200

Food - both restaurants and supermarket shopping

No restaurants. We aalways cook at home and eat dinner in our garden every night. About 2-3k per week in Tesco for all our shopping but not just food. figure on 100b per day for lunch.

Nightlife and drinking

I buy a liter of Black Label for about one month. Friday and Saturday nights in front of the computer or TV. Few beers during the week with dinner. Let's say 3-4k per month.

Books, computers

Computer cost me 15k, tablet 10k. Book shelf is full of books I bought in used book shops around Khao San.

Q5. How would you summarize your standard of living in one sentence?

Very, very comfortable for someone that doesn’t need to go out to be happy and is fine with going to a student’s house for 2 hours every Saturday and Sunday morning.

Q6. What do you consider to be a real 'bargain' here?

Rent

Q7. In your opinion, how much money does anyone need to earn here in order to survive?

35k in the city to be moderately comfortable and 30K in the rural areas. Nobody wants to live like a peasant. 50-60k might cut it long term if you’re looking to get ahead a little bit in life. If you’re good at your job, then this won’t be a problem with extra private lessons. We have a very comfortable, but quiet life with no problem putting money away every month on 70k.

Phil's analysis and comment

Evan sounds like a good, honest family man who likes a night in just as much as a night out. Nothing wrong with that. I'm a homeboy myself. One thing I've always preached is "work out how much money you need in order to live comfortably, then go out and find the easiest way to earn it" Don't bust your balls doing all the hours godsend for 30K a month if there's an alternative. And this is what caught my eye about Evan's survey. He's pulling in 70K a month and by my maths, doing just 18-20 'periods' or hours a week. That's not going to kill someone who truly enjoys teaching. 


Submit your own Cost of Living survey

Back to the main list


Featured Jobs

English Teacher for Early Years Students

฿30,000+ / month

Bangkok


Full-time and Part-time EFL Instructors

฿633+ / hour

Thailand


English Conversation Teachers for Immediate Start

฿35,000+ / month

Bangkok


Kindergarten Teaching Position

฿75,000+ / month

Myanmar


Primary Teaching Positions

฿55,000+ / month

Myanmar


Nursery Class Teacher

฿65,000+ / month

Samut Sakhon


Featured Teachers

  • David


    British, 32 years old. Currently living in Thailand

  • Aira


    Filipino, 26 years old. Currently living in Philippines

  • Jerome


    Nigerian, 35 years old. Currently living in Nigeria

  • Jadeen


    South African, 24 years old. Currently living in Thailand

  • Jo


    Filipino, 30 years old. Currently living in Philippines

  • Merey


    Filipino, 27 years old. Currently living in Philippines

The Hot Spot


Renting an apartment?

Renting an apartment?

Before you go pounding the streets, check out our guide and know what to look out for.


Can you hear me OK?

Can you hear me OK?

In today's modern world, the on-line interview is becoming more and more popular. How do you prepare for it?


Contributions welcome

Contributions welcome

If you like visiting ajarn.com and reading the content, why not get involved yourself and keep us up to date?


The dreaded demo

The dreaded demo

Many schools ask for demo lessons before they hire. What should you the teacher be aware of?


Teacher mistakes

Teacher mistakes

What are the most common mistakes that teachers make when they are about to embark on a teaching career in Thailand? We've got them all covered.


Need Thailand insurance?

Need Thailand insurance?

Have a question about health or travel insurance in Thailand? Ricky Batten from Pacific Prime is Ajarn's resident expert.


Will I find work in Thailand?

Will I find work in Thailand?

It's one of the most common questions we get e-mailed to us. So find out exactly where you stand.