Jamie

Working in Bangkok

Monthly Earnings 30,000 + 15,000 (from partner) = 45,000

Q1. How is that income broken down? (full-time salary, private students, on-line teaching, extra work, etc)

I receive 30,000 baht a month from a private language school here in Bangkok, located in one of the city's shopping malls. I also get 15,000 a month from my girlfriend who is lucky to have a higher paying job, so can share bills with me.

Disclaimer: I am a student here (from UK) doing an internship, finishing a degree related to teaching and at the start of my TEFL career.

Q2. How much money can you save each month?

Usually between 15,000-20,000

Q3. How much do you pay for your accommodation and what do you live in exactly (house, apartment, condo)?

I pay 10,000 a month for a condo that is within 5 minutes walking distance to the BTS.

Q4. What do you spend a month on the following things?

Transportation

I spend 2,500 a month on transport. Although the condo is located next to the BTS, the language center isn’t. I usually have to get either a bus or a motorbike to the MRT. Then coming back, a motorbike from the MRT to the condo. It all adds up!

Utility bills

Usually between 600-1,000. That includes the electricity, wifi and water.

Food - both restaurants and supermarket shopping

Food is usually between 9,000-10,000 a month. Certainly no big Western style restaurants at the salary I am currently receiving. Normally, it would be a big C type of food court or grabbing a few things from the local market nearby.

Nightlife and drinking

Very rarely. My budget doesn’t allow for this. If I was to make it a regular thing, a higher salary would be required.

Books, computers

I have a decent DELL computer (1-2 years old) and a recently brought an Ipad air. You can download pretty much anything for free nowadays.

Q5. How would you summarize your standard of living in one sentence?

It's OK, if I was comparing myself to a Thai person. I live in a decent condo, I take motorbikes/MRT to work, I eat better food then some. However to really enjoy myself here and not to feel restricted I need a higher salary and unfortunately, due to my internship, I do feel pretty trapped.
Although I do save a slight amount, this money is for both myself and my girlfriend for the future, so I have to be mindful and not ‘dip’ into it.

Q6. What do you consider to be a real 'bargain' here?

The price of food can be cheap and also inter-provincial travel. For example, I can get to Samut Sakhon for just 22 baht on a local air-con bus.

Q7. In your opinion, how much money does anyone need to earn here in order to survive?

I have always said you need at least 50,000. My 30,000 baht salary is pretty low for a native speaker with teaching experience. It’s certainly not a salary I want to be living on for too long.

Luckily, in a few months I will have been here for one year and I’ll be asking for a pay-rise. If I don’t get it, I’ll go elsewhere.

The future? I’ll be going back to the UK, getting a PGCE and getting a decent, serious paying job, hopefully at a private or international school in Bangkok. It sure beats running around at a language center for 30,000 a month.

Phil's analysis and comment

Thanks Jamie.  You're almost living the life of the 90's language school teacher - 30,000 baht a month and a third of it going on accommodation. In the 90's it was doable because there was far less to spend your money on and Bangkok was a much cheaper place to live anyway. But times have changed, and as you say, 50,000 is a much more realistic target.

Not to worry though. You seem focused on your goals and the only way is up! I'm sure better times are not too far away.  


Submit your own Cost of Living survey

Back to the main list


Featured Jobs

Full-time Filipino Mathematics Teacher

฿25,000+ / month

Nakhon Nayok


NES  English Teachers

฿37,000+ / month

Thailand


Teaching Positions Throughout Thailand (20-40K)

฿20,000+ / month

Thailand


Computer Teacher

฿40,000+ / month

Bangkok


Filipino Teachers for Kindergarten & Primary

฿20,000+ / month

Bangkok


Non-native English Conversation Teachers

฿30,000+ / month

Thailand


Featured Teachers

  • Nkwelle


    Cameroonian, 33 years old. Currently living in Cameroon

  • Paul


    Thai, 54 years old. Currently living in Thailand

  • Aveil


    Singaporean, 120 years old. Currently living in Thailand

  • Peter


    Australian, 56 years old. Currently living in Thailand

  • Anas


    Syrian, 42 years old. Currently living in Thailand

  • Heidi


    American, 29 years old. Currently living in Cambodia

The Hot Spot


Contributions welcome

Contributions welcome

If you like visiting ajarn.com and reading the content, why not get involved yourself and keep us up to date?


The dreaded demo

The dreaded demo

Many schools ask for demo lessons before they hire. What should you the teacher be aware of?


Will I find work in Thailand?

Will I find work in Thailand?

It's one of the most common questions we get e-mailed to us. So find out exactly where you stand.


Teacher mistakes

Teacher mistakes

What are the most common mistakes that teachers make when they are about to embark on a teaching career in Thailand? We've got them all covered.


Renting an apartment?

Renting an apartment?

Before you go pounding the streets, check out our guide and know what to look out for.


Can you hear me OK?

Can you hear me OK?

In today's modern world, the on-line interview is becoming more and more popular. How do you prepare for it?


Need Thailand insurance?

Need Thailand insurance?

Have a question about health or travel insurance in Thailand? Walter van der Wal from Pacific Prime is Ajarn's resident expert.