Andy

Working in Pak Phanang Town in Nakhon Si Thammarat

Monthly Earnings 30,000

Q1. How is that income broken down? (full-time salary, private students, on-line teaching, extra work, etc)

30,000 is my monthly salary from a Thai government school. I work Monday-Friday, 8 am - 3 pm, with some flexibility in there. I also have extra income from my home in USA that I rent out while I am here. That gives me an extra $650 USD per month. I'm sure I could find money another way and not even teach, but the teaching gives me a work permit so I don't have to cruise to Malaysia doing visa runs every year. Plus I love these little kids, it's just fun messing around with them all day at school. English is also taught by their Thai teacher and they go hard in there, so in my class we just play games to reiterate the lesson they have already learned. So again, it's more fun than a money deal.

Q2. How much money can you save each month?

It changes every month. I like to travel a lot so when I'm not working I spend my money. I really don't spend my extra income, but do get through the 30,000.

Q3. How much do you pay for your accommodation and what do you live in exactly (house, apartment, condo)?

I rent a town-house for 3,500 baht per month. with water and electric included.

Q4. What do you spend a month on the following things?

Transportation

I have two motorbikes, which I bought cash. One is a used 125cc scooter and then a bigger 250 cc bike that was deal from a small bike shop, it was maybe in several accidents or something but I keep it running clean nowadays. Gas costs around 800 baht a month.

Utility bills

They are included in the rent mentioned above.

Food - both restaurants and supermarket shopping

I eat out a lot, but also go to Tesco often. I live with my wife and she can cook really well. I pay a food bill for two people and still only spend 8,000 a month. Seafood is very cheap here, plus fishing is free and we fish weekly.

Nightlife and drinking

Maybe 3,000 baht a month. Nightlife is Thai karaoke or food spots with booze. There is a sports bar I hit with my wife's brothers often as well - Go Liverpool!

Books, computers

I pay for data and wi-fi and it's about 1,500 a month for my wife and I.

Q5. How would you summarize your standard of living in one sentence?

I really like it or else I wouldn't do it. I am also living here for my wife. Her grandmother raised her as a child and is now very old. Being able to spend time together is nice and what's important in our lives. My wife has three brothers and an uncle who gets faded all day long and go fishing off the nearby pier, - so that's a lot of fun for me.

Q6. What do you consider to be a real 'bargain' here?

Rent, seafood and Thai food. Also traveling around is very cheap within Thailand and to other nearby countries.

Q7. In your opinion, how much money does anyone need to earn here in order to survive?

Living in Pak Phanang could range from 15,000 - 50,000 baht a month. I know people here spending both amounts monthly and both doing just fine in different ways. Even the guy doing 15,000 a month could reduce that by drinking fewer lemon teas each day!

Phil's analysis and comment

Andy, I think you could be the first teacher in our cost of living section who catches his own dinner. Also, I kind of admire the way you have integrated with your wife's family, be it cheering on Liverpool in a sports bar or fishing off the pier with the faded uncle (I assume 'faded' means stoned or drunk? I'm not familiar with the expression) 


Submit your own Cost of Living survey

Back to the main list


Featured Jobs

NES/European Kindergarten Teachers (38-44K)

฿38,000+ / month

Bangkok


ESL Teachers for July Start

฿35,000+ / month

Thailand


Kindergarten Teachers

฿45,000+ / month

Bangkok


English Conversation Teachers (one-month contract)

฿40,000+ / month

Thailand


Fun Native English Teachers for Mid-June Start

฿42,000+ / month

Thailand


Full-Time NES Teachers for Kindergarten and Primary

฿40,000+ / month

Bangkok


Featured Teachers

  • Melody


    Filipino, 25 years old. Currently living in Philippines

  • Earl


    Filipino, 23 years old. Currently living in Thailand

  • Dominique


    Belgian, 53 years old. Currently living in Thailand

  • Mariano


    Filipino, 24 years old. Currently living in Philippines

  • Fabian


    German, 32 years old. Currently living in Thailand

  • Jeric


    Filipino, 24 years old. Currently living in Philippines

The Hot Spot


Teacher mistakes

Teacher mistakes

What are the most common mistakes that teachers make when they are about to embark on a teaching career in Thailand? We've got them all covered.


Will I find work in Thailand?

Will I find work in Thailand?

It's one of the most common questions we get e-mailed to us. So find out exactly where you stand.


Can you hear me OK?

Can you hear me OK?

In today's modern world, the on-line interview is becoming more and more popular. How do you prepare for it?


Contributions welcome

Contributions welcome

If you like visiting ajarn.com and reading the content, why not get involved yourself and keep us up to date?


Need Thailand insurance?

Need Thailand insurance?

Have a question about health or travel insurance in Thailand? Walter van der Wal from Pacific Prime is Ajarn's resident expert.


Renting an apartment?

Renting an apartment?

Before you go pounding the streets, check out our guide and know what to look out for.


The dreaded demo

The dreaded demo

Many schools ask for demo lessons before they hire. What should you the teacher be aware of?